Fish parcels

One of my very favourite things to cook when I’m dieting is fish parcels, yet I forget to do them at any other time.  I’m actually doing them a disservice – they’re not diet food, they’re basically delicious.  You can put pretty much anything in them that you like and they’re both tasty and really low in calories/fat/points – whichever way you’re counting, they’re good for you.

fish

Ingredients (serves 1)

White fish – I usually use cod loin or sea bass/bream

1 nest of egg noodles

½ red chilli, chopped finely

3 spring onions, cut into chunks on the diagonal

A teaspoon of finely chopped ginger

1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

Soy sauce (according to taste – I use about 1 tbsp)

1 tsp sesame oil

Lime segments

Vegetables – you can use pretty much anything but good ones are:

Tenderstem broccoli, blanched for 2 minutes

Asparagus, blanched for 2 minutes

Sugar snap peas or mange tout, sliced on the diagonal

Baby sweetcorn, halved lengthways

Pak choi or spinach

You will also need a piece of baking parchment, about 50cm long.

Boil the egg noodles for 5 minutes, drain and rinse in cold water.  Transfer to a bowl and mix with the sweet chilli sauce, soy sauce and sesame oil.  Stir in the spring onions, ginger and chopped red chilli and then turn out into the middle of a length of baking parchment.

Top with your vegetables and then lay the fish on top – if it’s still got its skin, lay it skin side up so you can peel it off easily once cooked (I don’t like soggy fish skin).  Pull all the sides of the baking parchment together to make an airtight parcel and pop it into the oven at 180c for about 20 minutes.

I’ve never managed to make this without the noodles sticking a little to the bottom of the parchment and the fish sticking a bit to the top (quite useful when its skin is still on as the skin will stick to the paper and you can just pick up the flesh) which means that it’s not the most beautiful of dishes when served, but god damn, it tastes good.  Serve with a couple of lime segments to squeeze over and a fun size bag of Maltesers for pudding.

fish1

16 thoughts on “Fish parcels

    • It’s never worked to stop it from sticking on foil – tried dozens of times. Bought parchment yesterday as assumed that wouldn’t stick but it did! Gah.

  1. I did a very similar thing last night with fresh egg noodles and salmon, for the second time in two weeks. There was no sticking either time, but I did mine in foil. Wonder if that makes a difference? Or perhaps they cover the fresh noodles in some kind of oil? In which case a lot less diety…?

    • You’ve hit the nail on the head – the fresh noodles are covered in oil to stop them sticking in the bag. I normally use foil and it always sticks on that too – so annoying!

      • Damn! That means I’ve been thinking they’re ‘free’ on Slimming World when they’re actually not. Ah well, live and learn. Will get the dried ones that stick next time!

      • I know – it’s really annoying as it’s not obvious from the packaging. At least the dried ones aren’t hard to cook – cheaper too!

  2. I was just being lazy, but think I can just about manage to sling some dried ones in a pan of water… By the way, I think we are neighbours!

  3. Snap! Saw your Twitter pic of the tent and pretty sure you’re round the corner from the park, down by the school? I’m a couple of roads across. Spooky…

  4. Totally. My toddler goes to childminder on your street, up by the road that goes along to the park. I don’t normally have a photographic memory of streets! Anyway, aren’t we lucky to have the fishmonger, greengrocer and fab new deli?! And I love the little Thai at the top of the hill.

    • I’m terrible – I don’t go into Nunhead that much despite going there everyday for the train. I’ve not been to the Thai at the top of the hill either – I’m terrible! Love the London Particular though and there’s a new cafe that’s opened near Goldsmiths called Chinwag which is nice. Have you been to Brockley Market?

  5. You MUST go to the top of the road Thai! I think you’d love their drunken noodles – spicy and so good! It’s a gem. Don’t know Chinwag, but will check it out. And yes to Brockley Market, but only once and with a newborn, so it doesn’t count. I hardly remember it. Must go again. Soon! Oh, more freakiness. I think we both knew Lisa Lynch…

    • That sounds good. I’ve gone past it often and just never really known whether it’s any good. I really like Thailand too (the restaurant, not the country!) Sadly I wasn’t lucky enough to know Lisa in real life – only via twitter. She was pretty amazing.

  6. Yup, sure was. She was my boss for a while, and then came the diagnosis… Will try Thailand again – went once years ago and was disappointed but I think they must have been having a bad day.

  7. Pingback: Week 19 | FatFranGetsFin

Leave a Reply

